Launceston Town Council
Newsletter Signup:

I want updates on:

How the Council Works

The Town Council has 16 Town Councillors elected for a term of four years. The last Town Council elections were in May 2017.

The Civic Year runs from May to April with the election of the Mayor, the Chairman of Council and his/her Deputy taking place at the Annual Statutory Meeting in May. These roles are filled by councillors who have been nominated and voted for by their councillor colleagues. The Town Councillors are unpaid, and with the exception of the Mayor, do not receive any attendance allowance or payments for their duties, which they undertake on a purely voluntary basis.

The Council operate on a programme of meetings on the third Tuesday in every month at 7.00pm, with Committee Chairmen having special responsibility for the various "umbrella" subjects i.e. Finance and General Purposes and Town Planning (see Committees page). Exceptions to this are the AGM in May, which is held on the third Thursday following the first Monday of the month at 2.00pm in the Town Hall, and August when no meeting is held.

Subject matters are brought before Council by means of the Agenda which is issued a minimum of three clear days before a meeting and is posted on the Town Hall public notice board and on this website.


Updated July 2017